Subway Prophet

…and the words of the prophets were written on the subway walls…

New Year

Leave a comment

So, the new year is approaching and I am thinking about what to do with it. 2010 is going to be a big year for me. I will be completing my last semester at Southern and then going on to do something… At this point I can see myself doing any number of things. I am working on a US-2 application, I am putting out feelers for jobs in CA, WA, and Chicago, and I am also working on applications for Seminary. I feel like I am behind in all of these things and sort of lost, but excited to see what happens. No matter where life goes, one thing is for sure things are going to change this year. My world will not be the same as I sit somewhere Dec 28 2010, and I am excited to see what becomes of that change, who I am, what I am doing. Change is a funny thing, it simultaneously creeps up on you as you wait to see what happens, but it can also spring out of no where and surprise you like the Lion from the Wizard of Oz. This semester I will be making a book list for my year (or two or three) off, I will be trying to make the most out of my last semester, doing things I have always thought about but never done, spend more time with my friends cherishing those friendships, and making sure I work on strengthening those I have not buit up as much. I will als try and keep this up as well. I need to chronicle this time in my life so that when I “look back with a sigh somewhere ages and ages hence” I will be able to remember these times better. Plus discipline has always been one of my weak points. Maybe if I do this weekly that might be good…we’ll see how it goes. Back to work 🙂

Author: subway prophet

I am a husband, father, and Provisional Elder in the United Methodist Church currently appointed to Memorial UMC in Fernandina Beach, FL. I am a proud graduate of Duke Divinity School and Florida Southern College as well as member of the Wesley Study Centre and St. Johns College in Durham, UK. All posts are my own opinions at the time they are posted and I reserve the ability to change my mind and opinions as I continue to listen to the Holy Spirit and read Scripture with those around me.

What do you think?

