Subway Prophet

…and the words of the prophets were written on the subway walls…

Devotional: Seeing Dimly

Leave a comment

[Written for the Memorial UMC 2015 Advent Devotional. Side Note: Our son was born on December 3, 2015]

For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then we will see face to face. Now I know only in part; then I will know fully, even as I have been fully known. (1 Corinthians 13:12)

Ever since we found out we were having a baby it has been hard to wait. What will our child look like? Who will s/he become?

Pregnancy is a surreal experience. It is hard to believe that the child we have only seen in black and white blurry images on an ultrasound machine will soon be born and cradled in my arms.

In this season of Advent, it’s hard to wait for Jesus to be born, and for Jesus’ return. What will the Kingdom of God look like? What will our world become?

Being a Christian is also a surreal experience. It is hard to see God at work amidst the suffering and violence in our world and in our lives. Where is the Kingdom that Jesus proclaimed?

I am thankful that God gives us glimpses of the Kingdom every bit as blurry and exciting as a sonogram. I see these blurry, exciting images in the community on Wednesday Nights, in the love and support of Sunday School classes and small groups, and in the joy and curiosity in our children.

These glimpses of the Kingdom remind me that God is actively working in our world to bring an end to suffering and to make all things right. Thanks be to God.

Let us pray, “God of hope, give me eyes to see your Kingdom around me so that I can share your hope with others.”

Author: subway prophet

I am a husband, father, and Provisional Elder in the United Methodist Church currently appointed to Memorial UMC in Fernandina Beach, FL. I am a proud graduate of Duke Divinity School and Florida Southern College as well as member of the Wesley Study Centre and St. Johns College in Durham, UK. All posts are my own opinions at the time they are posted and I reserve the ability to change my mind and opinions as I continue to listen to the Holy Spirit and read Scripture with those around me.

What do you think?

